About Waterford

A City Council is a form of government which is used in many towns and cities around the world. The members of the council are elected by the citizens, and they work together to pass laws, make general policies, supervise city government, and appropriate funds for various needs. The work of a City Council is usually supported by a number of specialized commissions which focus on specific issues like police, urban planning, and public works. The meetings of city council are open to the public, and public input is welcomed.

The City of Waterford was organized as a General Law City in 1969. The City operates under the Council-Manager form of government with the City Council members elected at large for 4-year terms and the Mayor elected for a 2-year term. The City Manager is appointed by and serves under the direction of the Waterford City Council. The City Council is the legislative body of the City and is directly responsible to the electorate with respect to the establishment of policies relating to City operations and finances. Members of the Council also serve as the Governing Board for the City’s Redevelopment Agency and Public Financing Authority.
The City Council Members are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk’s office. Copies of the statements of economic interests filed by the above elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the City Clerk. The physical address of the FPPC is 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacramento, California 95814. The physical address of the City Clerk’s office is 101 E Street, Waterford, California 95386. The statements of economic interests for some state and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC’s website at http://www.fppc.ca.gov/.