The City of Waterford consolidates with the Stanislaus County Elections Division for all municipal elections. The Waterford City Clerk serves as the elections official and the Clerk’s Office is responsible for all candidates’ filings, the issuance and acceptance of nomination papers, City measures and publication of all legal notices as well as campaign and conflict of interest filings required by the Fair Political Practices Commission.

The general municipal elections for the City are held on the first Tuesday in November of even-numbered years for the purpose of electing City Council members or placing special measures and/or bond issues before the voters. Special elections may be called for the purpose of Charter Amendments, Referendum, Initiative and/or Recall.

The City Council is made up of a Mayor and four Councilmembers, for a total of five members. City Council members are elected at-large to serve four-year overlapping terms. The offices of Mayor and City Council are non-partisan.

The Mayor serves a term of two years, and each Councilmember serves a four-year term. At the next City election, to be held on November 6, 2018, two Councilmember seats and the Mayor’s seat will be up for election.

To be eligible to be elected to the office in the City of Waterford, a person must be a qualified voter and a thirty (30) day resident of the City at the time nomination papers are issued as provided for in the Elections Code of the State of California.

For specific questions regarding the election process, please contact the City Clerk at (209) 874-2328 Ext. 109.

Voter Registration

Register to Vote (On-line form)
Vote By Mail (Request form)